Can Abortion Survive An Ultra Sound?


https://i1.wp.com/random-musings.net/Baby/Media/12%20wk%20Sonograms/Sonogram10.jpg

Have you ever heard the romantic expression, “You had me at ‘Hello'”?

We usually hear this when someone is talking about a love at first sight experience.

Well, I must admit I became a believer in just that kind of instant yet permanent bonding when I saw my daughter, Sara, for the first time.

And no, the meeting didn’t take place in a delivery room.

It was in a doctor’s office.

The first glance I caught of my sweetie was in the shadowy images of an ultra sound.

And yes, it was hard to see details, but not so hard that I couldn’t see her big, soulful eyes.

And even though it would be months before I would hold her for the first time, I will be the first to confess that from that moment on, she has had me wrapped around her little finger.

Of all the amazing inventions that have come on the scene, there are few that can be more personally impactful than an ultra sound image of a child developing in the womb.

How impactful?

Consider this fascinating story out of College Station, Texas.

Planned Parenthood Director Leaves, Has Change of Heart

Planned Parenthood has been a part of Abby Johnson’s life for the past eight years; that is until last month, when Abby resigned.

Johnson said she realized she wanted to leave, after watching an ultrasound of an abortion procedure.

“I just thought I can’t do this anymore, and it was just like a flash that hit me and I thought that’s it,” said Johnson.

Johnson goes on to describe her defection from an adamant pro-choice position as being spiritual in nature.

According to Johnson, the non-profit was struggling under the weight of a tough economy, and changing it’s business model from one that pushed prevention, to one that focused on abortion.

“It seemed like maybe that’s not what a lot of people were believing any more because that’s not where the money was. The money wasn’t in family planning, the money wasn’t in prevention, the money was in abortion and so I had a problem with that,” said Johnson.

Johnson said she was told to bring in more women who wanted abortions, something the Episcopalian church goer recently became convicted about.

“I feel so pure in heart (since leaving). I don’t have this guilt, I don’t have this burden on me anymore that’s how I know this conversion was a spiritual conversion.”

Johnson now supports the Coalition For Life, the pro-life group with a building down the street from Planned Parenthood. Coalition volunteers can regularly be seen praying on the sidewalk in front of Planned Parenthood. Johnson has been meeting with the coalition’s executive director, Shawn Carney, and has prayed with volunteers outside Planned Parenthood.

It has been said that evil thrives in the darkness, but dies in the light.

And isn’t it interesting that whenever a state passes legislation designed to regulate the abortion industry, outfits like Planned Parenthood and their political supporters become almost hysterical when the suggestion is made that every woman considering an abortion should have to view an ultra sound of the child before going ahead with the procedure?

The pro-abortion side knows something.

It’s much easier to sell someone on the idea that what is being dealt with is a “problem pregnancy”, a “fetus” or a “clump of cells” when they haven’t seen fingers and toes, or the shadowy image of a hiccup.

Or those big soulful eyes.

When Pam and I first saw Sara, it wasn’t all hearts and flowers.

The ultra sound technician came back in the room and told us that based on the date of conception, our child would be hopelessly deformed.

She went on to boldly state that the best thing to do was to abort her.

Holding back our anger at the unmitigated nerve of a “technician” making such a suggestion, we informed her that this was simply not an option.

Turns out, our doctor miscalculated her conception date.

And a few months later, I got to see those big soulful eyes face to face.

Funny how seeing an ultrasound image can change your life.

My daughter is 12 now, and it is hard for me to imagine how I could love her more.

What Abby Johnson discovered in Texas, is the same thing we discovered in Tucson.

The more we see pre-born children in the light, in reality, the way that God sees them, the more we value them and want to defend them.

Perhaps the tragedy of abortion on demand in our society will finally end as more and more women are given the opportunity to come face to face with the soulful image of their own child in the ever sharpening images of ultrasound.

For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.
My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
And in Your book they all were written,
The days fashioned for me,
When as yet there were none of them. (Psalm 139:13-16)


Leave a Reply

